Sam Rayburn

  Male      American      Politician

  Born : Jan 06, 1882  -
  Died : Nov 16, 1961

About Author

Samuel Taliaferro "Sam" Rayburn (January 6, 1882 – November 16, 1961) was a Democratic lawmaker from Bonham, Texas, who served as the Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives for 17 years, the longest tenure in U.S. history. He is one of six Speakers to serve more than one non-consecutive term, and the only Democrat to do so. Along with Henry Clay, he is one of only two to serve three different terms as Speaker.

Rayburn was born in Roane County, Tennessee, on January 6, 1882, 25 days before Franklin D. Roosevelt, a fact noted by the news media while Roosevelt was President and Rayburn was Speaker. In 1956 Rayburn was baptized by Elder H.G. Ball in the Primitive Baptist Church, also known as Old Line Baptist or Hard Shell Baptist Church. Rayburn graduated from East Texas Normal College (now Texas A&M University-Commerce) in Commerce, which was located in northeast Texas.

He won election to the Texas House of Representatives, beginning his first term in 1907. He attended the University of Texas School of Law while a state representative, and was admitted to the State Bar of Texas in 1908. During his third two-year term in the Texas House, he was elected Speaker of the House at the age of twenty-nine. The next year, he won election to the United States House of Representatives in District 4. He entered Congress in 1913 at the beginning of Woodrow Wilson's presidency and served in office for almost 49 years (more than 24 terms), until the beginning of John F. Kennedy's presidency...

Quotes by Sam Rayburn

More Quotes by Sam Rayburn