Michael Winter

  Male      Canadian      Writer

About Author

Michael Winter (born 1965) is a Canadian writer, the author of five novels and three collections of short stories.

Michael Winter was born in 1965 in Jarrow, England. His father was an industrial arts teacher, who moved the family to Newfoundland three years later, eventually settling in Corner Brook. After high school, Winter attended Memorial University, graduating in 1986 with a BA in economic geography.

Winter’s first short story collection, Creaking in Their Skins, was published in 1994. In 1999, editor John Metcalf at The Porcupine's Quill published his second book of stories, One Last Good Look. Winter moved to Toronto in 1999, where he published his first two novels: This All Happened (2000) and The Big Why (2004).

Much of Winter’s fiction chronicles the life and adventures of his fictional alter ego, Gabriel English. This All Happened, for example, is organized as a fictional diary, with 365 entries describing Gabriel’s life in St. John’s, his relationship with filmmaker Lydia Murphy, and the progress of the novel he is trying to write. The book was nominated for the 2000 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and won the inaugural Winterset Award.

The Big Why was a historical novel narrated by real-life American artist Rockwell Kent describing the time he spent in Brigus, Newfoundland, in 1914. Kent was eventually deported from Newfoundland on suspicion of being a German spy...

Quotes by Michael Winter

More Quotes by Michael Winter