Christopher Barzak

  Male      American      Author

  Born : Jul 21, 1975  

About Author

Christopher Barzak (born July 21, 1975) is an American author. He has published many short stories, beginning with "A Mad Tea Party" in Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet in 1999. In 2007 he published his debut novel, One for Sorrow, which has won the 2008 Crawford Award, and was a nominee for the 2008 Great Lakes Book Award as well as Logo TV's NewNowNext Awards.[1] His second novel, The Love We Share Without Knowing, was a 2008 James Tiptree Jr. Award Finalist and a 2009 Nebula Awards nominee for Best Novel. His first full length short story collection, Before and Afterlives, was the recipient of the Shirley Jackson Award for Best Single-Author Collection in 2013.

Barzak has worked as a teacher of English outside of Tokyo, in both primary and middle schools. His experiences over two years abroad in Japan led him to write his second novel, The Love We Share Without Knowing.

Barzak also holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Chatham University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. He currently teaches fiction writing at Youngstown State University, in Youngstown, Ohio.

Recently his first novel, One for Sorrow, was made into the feature film "Jamie Marks is Dead" by the director, Carter Smith, for Verisimilitude Films, starring Liv Tyler, Judy Greer, Cameron Monaghan, Noah Silver, and Morgan Saylor. The film debuted at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival in the U.S. Dramatic Competition. The film had a limited release by Gravitas Ventures in the United States on August 29, 2014 and is now available on demand or on DVD...

Quotes by Christopher Barzak

More Quotes by Christopher Barzak